Texas Tech University Athletics

Texas Tech University (TTU) was established in 1923 and was first known as Texas Technological College. Located in Lubbock, Texas, TTU is a public research university and the flagship school of the four-institution Texas Tech University System. TTU educates over 37,000 students in over 150 disciplines. The Lubbock campus also hosts a law school as well as a medical school.

Texas Tech is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference. The other nine members of the conference in its current form are Baylor University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, The University of Kansas, Oklahoma State University, The University of Oklahoma, Texas Christian University, The University of Texas, and West Virginia University. The university fields teams in 17 varsity sports as well as over 30 club and recreational sports teams. The school has had the most success with its women's basketball program, winning a national title in 1993 behind Naismith College Player of the Year and First Team All-American Sheryl Swoopes. The school has also won 68 conference championships over the years. Texas Tech's two primary in-state rivals are The University of Texas Longhorns and The Texas A&M University Aggies.

The men's teams are known as the Red Raiders and the women's teams are referred to as the Lady Raiders. The school sports crimson and black as its official colors. "Fight, Raiders Fight" is the fight song which can be heard at various sporting events. The football team plays at the on-campus Jones AT&T Stadium. Built in the style of Spanish Renaissance architecture to match the rest of campus, the facility has a capacity of over 60,000. Both basketball teams and the volleyball team play at the United Supermarkets Arena. All Red Raiders and Lady Raiders teams are led by Director of Athletics Kirby Hocutt.