Licensed Product

Dartmouth College Athletics

With a reputation for strong academics, Dartmouth College is often ranked as one of the best colleges in the country. The college, which is based in Hanover, New Hampshire, is one of eight members of the Ivy League. Dartmouth's athletic teams compete in Division I of the NCAA as well as the ECAC (Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference) and the Ivy League conference. Their biggest rivals are the New Hampshire Wildcats from the University of New Hampshire.

Dartmouth's sports teams are nicknamed the Big Green after the Green, a famous spot in the center of campus. Teams wear forest green and white uniforms. Unusually, Dartmouth doesn't have an official mascot. The college's sports teams used to be referred to as the Indians, but this unofficial moniker fell out of favor in the early 1970's. Since 2003, Keggy the Keg, an anthropomorphic beer keg, has served as the college's unofficial mascot. Keggy was created by a student-run humor magazine, and although initially controversial, the figure has become a well-loved part of campus culture.

The college has 35 varsity teams, which include 18 men's teams, 16 women's teams, and a co-ed sailing team. Additionally, there are a number of club teams and intramural sports teams, including rugby and ultimate frisbee. Although Dartmouth's varsity teams often make appearances in NCAA championships, most of their title wins have come from their participation in the Ivy League conference. The football team has won the Ivy League title a total of 18 times, with their most recent win coming in 2015. The baseball team won two Ivy League conference championships in 2009 and 2010. In 2017, Dartmouth won Ivy League titles in women's tennis and men's soccer.